









Mail Stop 2404 • College Station, TX 77843-2404 • (979) 862-9166 • cpi@tamu.edu

## **CPI Executive Committee Coordination with President Young**

September 6, 2017, 2:00 – 3:00 p.m.

Jack K. Williams Administration Building, President's Office, Suite 200

- I. Discussion Items: (Moderated by Dr. Penny Riggs, CPI Chair)
  - (a) Introduction of 2017-18 CPI Executive Committee Members
  - (b) Updates Hurricane Harvey. Impacts on research and research opportunities?
  - (c) Trade is critical for agriculture and other industries for Texas and the nation. Loss of both NAFTA and South Korea trade agreement could have huge impact. Is Texas A&M prepared to assist Trump administration and stakeholders in dealing with this impact?
  - (d) In last year's 'state of the university' address, life sciences and a potential school was mentioned. Has there been any follow up to that.
  - (e) Updates re: iSchool, TTC, most recent BOR meetings?
  - (f) Updates on searches Nursing, Ag, GEOS, Vice President for Research, etc?
  - (g) New Initiatives or Goals for TAMU for Fall 2017?
  - (h) Requests of CPI for Fall/Spring?
  - (i) Other business

2017-18 CPI roster: Chair — Penny Riggs , COALS • Vice Chair — David Threadgill , Veterinary Medicine • AgriLife Extension — Craig Carpenter, Gaylon Morgan • AgriLife Research — Michael Brewer, Ambika Chandra, Dou Fugen, Lee Tarpley • Architecture — Ergun Akleman • Bush School — Kent Portney • COALS — Fuller Bazer, Russell Cross, Martin Dickman, Micky Eubanks, Elizabeth Pierson, David Stelly • Education — Oi-Man Kwok, Jeffrey Liew • Engineering — Jorge Alvarado, Ulisses Braga-Neto, Zachary Grasley, Melissa Grunlan, Tony Hsieh Sheng-Jen, Daniel Jiménez, Jodie Lutkenhaus, Ramesh Talreja • Geosciences — Alejandro Orsi, Pamela Plotkin, Brendan Roark • IBT/PHARM/RCHI — Julian Hurdle • Law — Susan Fortney • Liberal Arts — Steve Maren, Harland Prechel • Medicine — Vytas Bankaitas, Kayla Bayless • Science — Darren DePoy, Michael Hall, Christian Hilty, Alexei Safonov, Frank Sottile • SPH — Jane Bolin • TAMU at Galveston — R.J. David Wells • TAMCD — Jay Groppe • TAMU at Qatar — Othmane Bouhali • TTI — David Bierling, Mike Lukuc, Dennis Perkinson • University Libraries — Bruce Herbert • Veterinary Medicine — Loren Skow

## **CPI Executive Committee Members (College):**

- Vytas Bankaitis (Medicine)
- Russell Cross (Agriculture and Life Sciences)
- Darren DePoy (Science)
- Melissa Grunlan (Engineering)
- Jeffrey Liew (Education and Human Development)
- Jodie Lutkenhaus (Engineering)
- Steve Maren (Liberal Arts)
- Penny Riggs, Chair (Agriculture and Life Sciences)
- Brendan Roark (Geosciences)
- David Stelly (Agriculture and Life Sciences)
- David Threadgill, Vice Chair (Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences)