COUNCIL of TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATORS Mail Stop 2404



Mail Stop 2404 • College Station, TX 77843-2404 • (979) 862-9166 • cpi@tamu.edu

CPI Executive Committee Meeting with Provost Fierke

September 12, 2018, 1:30 – 2:30 p.m. Rudder 709

I. Discussion Items: (Moderated by Dr. David Threadgill, CPI Chair)

- (a) Introduction of new CPI executive committee
- (b) Discussion on current thinking for budget model changes
- (c) Discussion on "excused absences" for graduate students attending conferences
- (d) Findings and plans for improving retention and graduation rates
- (e) Any plans for increasing student research experiences
- (f) Follow up from August's meeting on the graduate student health insurance outcome
- (g) Other business

CPI Executive Committee Members (College):

- Vytas Bankaitis (Medicine)
- Russell Cross (Agriculture and Life Sciences)
- Darren DePoy, Vice Chair (Science)
- Nancy Downing (Nursing)
- Melissa Grunlan (Engineering)
- Oi-Man Kwok (Education and Human Development)
- Steve Maren (Liberal Arts)
- Dennis Perkinson (Texas A&M Transportation Institute)
- Elizabeth 'Betsy' Pierson (Agriculture and Life Sciences)
- Penny Riggs, Past Chair (Agriculture and Life Sciences)
- Brendan Roark (Geosciences)
- David Threadgill, Chair (Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences)

2018-19 CPI roster: Chair — David Threadgill, Veterinary Medicine • Vice Chair — Darren DePoy, Science • Past Chair — Penny Riggs, COALS • AgriLife Extension — Craig Carpenter, Gaylon Morgan • AgriLife Research — Michael Brewer, Ambika Chandra, Lee Tarpley • Architecture — Ergun Akleman • Bush School — Kent Portney • COALS — Russell Cross, Kerri Gehring, Wes Osburn, Elizabeth 'Betsy' Pierson, David Stelly, Aaron Tarone • Education — Oi-Man Kwok, Rafael Lara-Alecio • Engineering — Jorge Alvarado, Ulisses Braga-Neto, Akhilesh Gaharwar, Zach Grasley, Melissa Grunlan, Sheng-Jen 'Tony' Hsieh, Jodie Lutkenhaus, Scott Socolofsky, Ramesh Talreja • Geosciences — Alejandro Orsi, Pamela Plotkin, Brendan Roark • Law – Susan Fortney • Liberal Arts — Sandra Braman, Steve Maren, Harland Prechel • Mays — Korok Ray • Medicine — Vytas Bankaitis, Kayla Bayless, Carl Gregory • Nursing — Nancy Downing • Pharmacy — Jayshree Mishra • Science — Michael Hall, Christian Hilty, Alexei Safonov, Frank Sottile • SPH — Jane Bolin • TAMU at Galveston — R.J. David Wells • TAMCD — Jay Groppe • TAMU at Qatar — Othmane Bouhali • TEES — Dean Schneider • TTI — David Bierling, Mike Lukuc, Dennis Perkinson • University Libraries — Bruce Herbert • Veterinary Medicine — Candice Brinkmeyer-Langford, Jay Ramadoss

The CPI is sponsored annually through funding from Texas A&M University, Texas A&M AgriLife, Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station, and the Texas A&M Transportation Institute