Mail Stop 2404 • College Station, TX 77843-2404 • (979) 862-9166 • cpi@tamu.edu

Texas A&M University - Texas A&M Health Science Center – Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station - Texas A&M AgriLife Research – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service – Texas A&M Transportation Institute

## **CPI Meeting Agenda**

June 22, 2016 (11:30 a.m. – 1:15 p.m.) Interdisciplinary Life Sciences Building (ILSB), room 1105

(11:30 – 11:45) <u>Lunch</u>

(11:45) Call to order/Opening remarks – Dr. Helene Andrews-Polymenis, CPI Chair

Fair Labor Standards Act/Overtime pay update - Dr. Glen Laine, Vice President for Research

Core Facilities: Philosophy - Operations - Successes - Challenges

- General Institutional Philosophy on Core Facilities Dr. Glen Laine, Vice President for Research
- Philosophy and operation of selected current core facilities:
  - Dr. James Batteas Material Characterization Facility (MCF)
  - Dr. Charlie Johnson Genomics and Bioinformatics Center
- Philosophy/successes/challenges in the establishment of Research Development
  Fund first round awardee core resources:
  - Dr. Arul Jayaraman and Dr. Larry Dangott Integrated Metabolomics Analysis Core (IMAC)
  - Dr. Binayak Mohanty Texas Water Observatory (TWO)
- Panel Discussion with Q&A

Other Business

(1:15) *Adjourn* 

Attachments: June CPI Newsletter

2015-16 CPI roster: Chair — Helene Andrews-Polymenis, Medicine • Vice Chair — James Batteas , Science • Past Chair — Mary Bryk, COALS • AgriLife — Non-COALS — Ambika Chandra, Jamie Foster, Dou Fugen • AgriLife Extension Service — Juan Anciso • Architecture — Ergun Akleman • BCD — Jay Groppe • Bush School — Laurie Paarlberg • Business — Romana Paetzold • COALS — Fuller Bazer, Martin Dickman, Micky Eubanks, Craig Kaplan, Penny Riggs, Heather Wilkinson • Education — Jeffrey Liew • Engineering — Jorge Alvarado, Ulisses Braga-Neto, Tahir Cagin, Arum Han, Tony Hsieh, Daniel Jiménez, Lawrence Rauchwerger, Victor Ugaz • Geosciences — Steve DiMarco, Brendan Roark • IBT/PHARM/RCHI — Julian Hurdle • Liberal Arts — Jim Grau, Richard Street, Teresa Wilcox • Medicine — Vytas Bankaitas • Science — Darren DePoy, Alexei Safonov, Michael Smotherman, Frank Sottile • SPH — Eva Shipp • TAMU at Galveston — Tim Dellapenna • TAMU at Qatar — Othmane Bouhali • TTI — Lance Bullard, Nauman Sheikh, Joe Zietsman • University Libraries — Heather Moberly • Veterinary Medicine — Sanjay Reddy, Loren Skow

The CPI is sponsored annually through equal funding from Texas A&M University Division of Research, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Texas A&M AgriLife Research, Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station, and the Texas A&M Transportation Institute