

Mail Stop 2404 • College Station, TX 77843-2404 • (979) 862-9166 • cpi@tamu.edu

CPI Executive Committee Meeting with Provost Fierke

October 10, 2018, 1:30 – 2:30 p.m. Rudder 709

I. Discussion Items: (Moderated by Dr. David Threadgill, CPI Chair)

- (a) Given the general plan to expand the master program enrollment (as a potential source to support doctoral students), will there be any additional support for the master program recruitment (e.g., create and post the master program ads; incentive for creating new master programs? face-to-face or online or both formats?)
- b) Interdisciplinary research--continuing to break down silos:
 - CIP codes--always cause for concern for specialized graduate disciplines. Also, problematic
 for interdisciplinary programs because departments encourage faculty to take students
 through department CIP code. At some institutions such as Minnesota CIP codes are
 "categorized by career clusters to align academic programs to occupational career
 pathways." Are there strategies for alleviating CIP code issues?
 - Credit for faculty participation?
 - Opportunities for funding updates to shared instrumentation--below core facility level
- c) Continue emphasis on teaching students job success skills to undergraduate and graduate students. How to encourage students to see these are important course "content"?
 - How to get a job
 - How to be successful in graduate school/first job
- d) How do you see a RCM-type budget model working for the University?
- e) Other business

2018-19 CPI roster: Chair — David Threadgill, Veterinary Medicine • Vice Chair — Darren DePoy, Science • Past Chair — Penny Riggs, COALS • AgriLife Extension — Craig Carpenter, Gaylon Morgan • AgriLife Research — Michael Brewer, Ambika Chandra, Lee Tarpley • Architecture — Ergun Akleman • Bush School — Kent Portney • COALS — Russell Cross, Kerri Gehring, Wes Osburn, Elizabeth 'Betsy' Pierson, David Stelly, Aaron Tarone • Education — Oi-Man Kwok, Rafael Lara-Alecio • Engineering — Jorge Alvarado, Ulisses Braga-Neto, Akhilesh Gaharwar, Zach Grasley, Melissa Grunlan, Sheng-Jen 'Tony' Hsieh, Jodie Lutkenhaus, Scott Socolofsky, Ramesh Talreja • Geosciences — Alejandro Orsi, Pamela Plotkin, Brendan Roark • Law – Susan Fortney • Liberal Arts — Sandra Braman, Steve Maren, Harland Prechel • Mays — Korok Ray • Medicine — Vytas Bankaitis, Kayla Bayless, Carl Gregory • Nursing — Nancy Downing • Pharmacy — Jayshree Mishra • Science — Michael Hall, Christian Hilty, Alexei Safonov, Frank Sottile • SPH — Jane Bolin • TAMU at Galveston — R.J. David Wells • TAMCD — Jay Groppe • TAMU at Qatar — Othmane Bouhali • TEES — Dean Schneider • TTI — David Bierling, Mike Lukuc, Dennis Perkinson • University Libraries — Bruce Herbert • Veterinary Medicine — Candice Brinkmeyer-Langford, Jay Ramadoss

The CPI is sponsored annually through funding from Texas A&M University, Texas A&M AgriLife, Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station, and the Texas A&M Transportation Institute

CPI Executive Committee Members (College):

- Vytas Bankaitis (Medicine)
- Russell Cross (Agriculture and Life Sciences)
- Darren DePoy, Vice Chair (Science)
- Nancy Downing (Nursing)
- Melissa Grunlan (Engineering)
- Oi-Man Kwok (Education and Human Development)
- Steve Maren (Liberal Arts)
- Dennis Perkinson (Texas A&M Transportation Institute)
- Elizabeth 'Betsy' Pierson (Agriculture and Life Sciences)
- Penny Riggs, Past Chair (Agriculture and Life Sciences) unable to attend
- Brendan Roark (Geosciences) unable to attend
- David Threadgill, Chair (Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences)