





Mail Stop 2404 • College Station, TX 77843-2404 • (979) 862-9166 • cpi@tamu.edu

CPI Executive Committee with Provost Fierke

September 11, 2019, 1:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. Rudder 709

CPI Executive Committee Discussion Items: (Moderated by Dr. Darren DePoy, CPI Chair)

- Introduction of 2019-2020 CPI Executive Committee
- Priority items to focus on after Provost Retreat
- Faculty Appointment Time
- CPI White Paper Discussions on Interdisciplinary Research
 - o How can CPI best collaborate with the Provost Team?
- CPI White Paper Discussions on Improving Research Personnel & Recruitment
 - o Updates on actions towards improving PhD recruitment and 5 year guaranteed funding
 - o Updates on plans for moving towards a TAMU Graduate College
- Other Business

CPI Executive Committee (College/Unit):

- Kayla Bayless (Medicine)
- Russell Cross (Agriculture and Life Sciences) unable to attend
- Darren DePoy, Chair (Science)
- Nancy Downing (Nursing) unable to attend
- Kerri Gehring (Agriculture and Life Sciences)
- Melissa Grunlan (Engineering)
- Steve Maren, Vice Chair (Liberal Arts)
- Dennis Perkinson (Texas A&M Transportation Institute)
- Betsy Pierson (Agriculture and Life Sciences)
- Jayanth Ramadoss (Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences)
- Brendan Roark (Geosciences) unable to attend
- Scott Socolofsky (Engineering)
- David Threadgill, Past Chair (Medicine)

2019-20 CPI roster: Chair — Darren DePoy, Science • Vice Chair — Stephen Maren, Liberal Arts • Past Chair — David Threadgill, Medicine • AgriLife Extension — Craig Carpenter, Jamie Rae Walker • AgriLife Research — Michael Brewer, Ambika Chandra, Lee Tarpley • Architecture — Ergun Akleman • Bush School — Kent Portney • COALS — Russell Cross, Kerri Gehring, Wes Osburn, Jean-Phillipe 'JP' Pellois, Elizabeth 'Betsy' Pierson, David Stelly, Aaron Tarone • Education — Timothy Elliott, Rafael Lara-Alecio • Engineering — Jorge Alvarado, Debjyoti Banerjee, Ulisses Braga-Neto, Akhilesh Gaharwar, Melissa Grunlan, Sheng-Jen 'Tony' Hsieh, James Kaihatu, Scott Socolofsky, Ramesh Talreja • Geosciences — Jessica Fitzsimmons, Ethan Grossman, Brendan Roark • Law — Gabriel Eckstein • Liberal Arts — Sandra Braman, Harland Prechel • Mays — Korok Ray • Medicine — Helene Andrews-Polymenis, Kayla Bayless, Carl Gregory • Nursing — Nancy Downing • Pharmacy — Jayshree Mishra • Science — Michael Hall, Christian Hilty, Alexei Safonov, Frank Sottile • SPH — Gang Han • TAMU at Galveston — R.J. David Wells • TAMCD — Hongjiao Ouyang • TAMU at Qatar — Othmane Bouhali • TEES — Dean Schneider • TTI — David Bierling, James Kovar, Dennis Perkinson • University Libraries — Bruce Herbert • Veterinary Medicine — Candice Brinkmeyer-Langford, Dana Gaddy, Jayanth Ramadoss