COUNCIL of TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATORS Mail Stop 2404





Mail Stop 2404 • College Station, TX 77843-2404 • (979) 862-9166 • cpi@tamu.edu

CPI Meeting Agenda

July 8, 2020 (11:30 a.m. – 1:15 p.m.) Virtual Meeting from Texas A&M University

Meeting moderated by Darren DePoy

(11:30 – 11:35) Introductions and Overview – Dr. Darren DePoy, 2019-2020 CPI Chair

(11:40) Federal Government Update

- Mr. Michael O'Quinn, Vice President for Government Relations & Strategic Initiatives, Texas A&M University
- Dr. Leslee K. Gilbert, Vice President, Van Scoyoc Associates, Consultant to Texas A&M University System Federal Relations Office in Washington, DC

Responsible Conduct of Research (RCR) Update – Dr. Jack Baldauf, Senior Associate Vice President for Research, Texas A&M University

Division of Research Update – Dr. Mark A. Barteau, Vice President for Research, Texas A&M University

Los Alamos National Lab/TAMUS Research Collaboration Grants Opportunities – Dr. Diane Hurtado, Associate Vice Chancellor for National Laboratories Management and Dr. Marvin Adams, Director of Research and Education to Advance Laboratory Missions

Dr. Kent Portney Memoriam – Drs. Lori Taylor and Arnold Vedlitz, Bush School of Public Service

Other Business - Dr. Darren DePoy

• August CPI General Meeting will be virtual on 2nd Wednesday, August 12, 2020, with Recognitions of CPI Representatives Going Off & Newly Elected CPI Members for 2020-2021.

(1:15) Adjourn

Attachment: -July CPI Newsletter

2019-20 CPI roster: Chair — Darren DePoy, Science • Vice Chair — Stephen Maren, Liberal Arts • Past Chair — David Threadgill, Medicine • AgriLife Extension — Craig Carpenter, Jamie Rae Walker • AgriLife Research — Michael Brewer, Ambika Chandra, Lee Tarpley • Architecture — Ergun Akleman • Bush School — Kent Portney • COALS — Russell Cross, Kerri Gehring, Wes Osburn, Jean-Philippe 'JP' Pellois, Elizabeth 'Betsy' Pierson, David Stelly, Aaron Tarone • Education — Timothy Elliott, Rafael Lara-Alecio • Engineering — Jorge Alvarado, Debjyoti Banerjee, Ulisses Braga-Neto, Akhilesh Gaharwar, Melissa Grunlan, Sheng-Jen 'Tony' Hsieh, James Kaihatu, Scott Socolofsky, Ramesh Talreja • Geosciences — Jessica Fitzsimmons, Ethan Grossman, Brendan Roark • Law – Gabriel Eckstein • Liberal Arts — Sandra Braman, Harland Prechel • Mays — Korok Ray • Medicine — Helene Andrews-Polymenis, Kayla Bayless, Carl Gregory • Nursing — Nancy Downing • Pharmacy — Jayshree Mishra • Science — Michael Hall, Christian Hilty, Alexei Safonov, Frank Sottile • SPH — Gang Han • TAMU at Galveston — R.J. David Wells • TAMCD — Hongjiao Ouyang • TAMU at Qatar — Othmane Bouhali • TEES — Dean Schneider • TTI — David Bierling, James Kovar, Dennis Perkinson • University Libraries — Bruce Herbert • Veterinary Medicine — Candice Brinkmeyer-Langford, Dana Gaddy, Jayanth Ramadoss

The CPI is sponsored annually through funding from Texas A&M University, Texas A&M AgriLife, Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station, and the Texas A&M Transportation Institute